Kicad Schematic for Minty Boost

Minty Boost is an open-source hardware design developed by ladyada. It is a battery powered USB charger for mobile devices such as cell phones, including the iPhone.

ladyada used Eagle to design the PCB and had it manufactured by a PCB shop. I don’t like Eagle because the freeware version has limited capability and I don’t want to pay for the full version. My plan is to use KiCad, which is open-source, to recreate the latest schematic done by ladyada, and make the PCBs myself using homebrew techniques. 

My KiCad schematic is shown below.

The design is centered around the LT1302 fixed 5V DC/DC converter with high current output. Next, I have to create footprint modules for a few of the components.

2 Responses to “Kicad Schematic for Minty Boost”

  1. Kobu,

    I’m always impressed by the cool s#$t you are able to do. Man.

  2. I use KiCad as well, for the same reasons you stated. One thing I don’t like about KiCad so far is, the resistors are just plain rectangles in the schematic. At least EagleCAD has the industry standard resistor symbol as default in it’s schematic editor.

Leave a Reply

Follow

Get every new post delivered to your Inbox.

